The National Association of EMS Physicians® (NAEMSP®) was formed in 1984 to serve as a resource and advocate for EMS physicians and EMS professionals. Since its inception, NAEMSP® membership has grown from a handful of dedicated founders from a cross-section of the U.S., to almost 2,000 physicians, paramedics, nurses, administrators, educators, researchers and key EMS personnel.

As part of its ongoing commitment to improving out-of-hospital emergency medical care, the NAEMSP® promotes meetings, publications and products that connect, serve and educate its members. The Association also serves as resource and advocate of EMS-related decisions in partnership with organizations and federal agencies.

As EMS systems continue to grow and develop, many have lost the perspective that EMS is the practice of medicine, by medical personnel, in the out-of-hospital setting. Since EMS physicians emanate from various disciplines - such as emergency medicine, family practice, pediatrics, surgery and cardiology - and non-physician EMS personnel encompass an unlimited range of professional backgrounds, NAEMSP® continues to coordinate and focus advances in medical care, research and training in each of these fields as they relate to EMS.

Past Presidents
2017, 2018 J. Brent Myers, MD, MPH
2015, 2016 Jane Brice, MD, MPH
2013, 2014 Ritu Sahni, MD, MPH
2011, 2012 Ron Pirrallo, MD, MHSA
2009, 2010 Ted Delbridge, MD, MPH
2007, 2008 David Cone, MD
2005, 2006 Robert O'Connor, MD, MPH
2003, 2004 Robert Bass, MD
2001, 2002 Richard C. Hunt, MD
1998, 1999, 2000 Jon R. Krohmer, MD
1996, 1997 Robert A Swor, DO
1994, 1995 Nicholas Benson, MD
1992, 1993 Raymond Fowler, MD
1990, 1991 Paul Paris, MD
1987, 1988, 1989 Paul Pepe, MD
1986 Ronald D. Stewart, MD

Contact NAEMSP