EMS Subspecialty

Congratulations to all newly EMS-Certified Physicians!

If you are a member of NAEMSP, we request that you update your membership record to reflect your certification status as soon as possible.  Thank you!

LLSA Reading Lists


ABEM has created and shared a list of frequently asked questions (FAQs) regarding EMS certificiation.

Reference Materials 

For those studying for the certification exam for the EMS subspecialty, our best information is that the content for this test will be drawn from published texts that the praciticing EMS physician would use to help guide decisions in EMS medicine. NAEMSP's four-volume text should be a very important source.
The following are some of the texts likely to meet these guidelines. 
  • NAEMSP 2-Volume Text EMS Medical Direction – Primary Resource Text
  • Clinical Aspects of Prehospital Medicine
  • Medical Oversight of EMS
  • Evaluation and Improving Quality in EMS
  • Special Operations Medical Support
  • ACEP Principles of EMS Systems – Krohmer and Brennan
  • Disaster Medicine: Comprehensive Principles and Practices – Koenig and Schultz
  • Tactical Medicine Essentials – Campbell, Heiskell, Smith, and Wipfler
  • Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine
  • Rosen's Emergency Medicine
  • Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine
  • Review guide to accompany the two-volume NAEMSP textbook created by Ryan Coughlin (Yale), on behalf of the NAEMSP Fellows and Fellowship Graduates Committee
EMS Eligibility Criteria
EMS Core Content
To request a certification application, please contact the ABEM office, www.ABEM.org.​

Board Certification in Emergency Medical Services
October 9, 2012
East Lansing, Mich.
The American Board of Emergency Medicine has been approved to grant certification in the subspecialty of Emergency Medical Services (EMS). Certification in EMS is open to any physician who is certified by an American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Member Board and fulfills the ABEM Policy on Medical Licensure and the EMS Eligibility Criteria. Both of these documents and the Core Content of EMS Medicine are available on the ABEM website.

The application period for the first EMS certification examination opened October 1, 2012, and will continue through June 30, 2013. The first EMS subspecialty certification examination will be administered October 23-25, 2013, at Pearson VUE professional testing centers.

ABEM is also preparing for the EMS Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. Each physician who attains certification in EMS in 2013 will begin participating in EMS MOC in 2014. One component of MOC is Lifelong Learning and Self Assessment (LLSA). LLSA addresses issues of relevance to current practice. The LLSA tests are multiple-choice, open-book tests based on a number of relevant readings. ABEM encourages EMS organizations and individual physicians to submit suggestions for readings. The form for submitting articles and additional information are available on the ABEM website (there also are links from the home page).

ABEM has also developed FAQs on EMS certification and EMS MOC. Additional information can be found on the Emergency Medical Services section of the ABEM website​. If you still have questions after checking these sources, please call ABEM at (517) 332-4800 ext. 387, or email [email protected].

The American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) certifies emergency physicians who meet its educational, professional standing, and examination standards. Its mission is to protect the public by promoting and sustaining the integrity, quality, and standards of training in and practice of Emergency Medicine. There are currently nearly 29,000 ABEM-certified emergency physicians. ABEM is not a membership organization, but a non-profit, independent evaluation organization. ABEM is one of 24 medical specialty certification boards recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties.  ​

Contact NAEMSP