EMS Professionals Earn Awards and Grants at NAEMSP® 2020​

January 13, 2020

The National Association of EMS Physicians® (NAEMSP®) honored exemplary EMS professionals with grants, professional awards and research awards at the NAEMSP 2020 Annual Meeting, January 6-11, at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, CA.
“We are lucky to have such dedicated members,” says NAEMSP President David K. Tan, MD, EMT-T, FAAEM, FAEMS. “Many EMS professionals work hard to improve patient care not only through research and advocacy, but also by volunteering to help other professionals in organizations such as NAEMSP. We’re proud of all of our members and the important work they do.”

NAEMSP/AMR-FRE EMS Fellows Research Grants
NAEMSP and the AMR Foundation for Research and Education (AMR-FRE) presented two $5,000 research grants to help NAEMSP members conduct prehospital care research. This year’s grants will support the following projects:
Assessment of Physiological Stress of Lights and Sirens on Patients Under EMS Ground Transport
Adam Benzing, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Pulmonary Function Testing of Patients Under EMS Ground Transport
Amninder Singh, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

NAEMSP Professional Awards
The Ronald D. Stewart Award honors a person who has made a lasting, major contribution to the national EMS community. 
Winner: Lynn White, MS, FAEMS, Global Medical Response, for her dedication and commitment to the development of quality emergency medical services throughout the world.
The Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award honors an active or past member of NAEMSP who has provided significant leadership to the association.
Winner: Sandy Bogucki, MD, PhD, Professor of Emergency Medicine, Yale University School of Medicine, for her leadership and commitment to advancing the science of the EMS subspecialty.
The Friends of EMS Award honors an individual or organization furthering NAEMSP’s mission by helping to influence or implement national public policy.
Winner: Rick Murray, EMT-P, Director of EMS and Disaster Preparedness Department, ACEP for his dedication and efforts to the EMS community.
The President’s Award honors a member or members of NAEMSP who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the organization by creating new initiatives or furthering the work of the organization.
Winner: Alexander P. Isakov, MD, MPH for his tireless work and commitment to accurately represent NAEMSP and its values during the Nomenclature of the EMS Professions project.

NAEMSP Research Awards
Best Disaster Research Presentation Sponsored by the National Disaster Life Support Foundation
A Comparison of the Application of the SALT and START Triage Systems with Respect to Accuracy, Time to Completion, and Time to Application of Life-Saving Measures
Scott Kunkel, DO; Thomas Grawey, DO; Maureen Luetje, DO; Robert Treat, PhD; J. Marc Liu, MD, MPH
Medical College of Wisconsin
Best Scientific Presentation
Prehospital Performance of the Cincinnati Prehospital Stroke Scale Compared to LVO-specific Instruments for Identifying LVO Stroke
Remle P. Crowe, PhD, NREMT; J. Brent Myers, MD, MPH; Antonio R. Fernandez, PhD, NRP; Scott Bourn, PhD, RN; and Jason T. McMullan, MD, MS
Best Student/Resident/Fellow Presentation
Can You Get There From Here? An Analysis of Walkability Among PulsePoint CPR Alert Dispatches
Tanner Smida, Connor Willson, Jessica Salerno, Leonard Weiss and David Salcido
University of Pittsburgh, School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine
Best EMS Professional Research Presentation
Introduction of a Smartphone Application-Based Medication Administration Resource in a Large EMS System
Mallory DeLuca; Robert Davis; Jefferson Williams; Donald Garner, Jr.; Michael Bachman; and Jose Cabanas
Wake County EMS
Best Poster Abstract Presentation
Cost-Savings of Shared Decision Making to Avoid Unnecessary EMS Transport for Assisted Living Residents with Simple Falls
Patrick Welsh, Sally Stearns, Jefferson Williams, Jose Cabanas, Michael Bachman, Lawrence Brown, Alan Kronhaus and J. Brent Myers
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Department of Health Policy and Management
Best Cardiac Arrest Presentation
Accuracy in Prehospital Use of an Automated External Defibrillator Algorithm that Analyzes During Chest Compressions
Corina de Graaf, Ronald Stickney, Stefanie Beesems, Fred Chapman and Rudolph Koster
Amsterdam UMC
Best Pediatric Presentation
A Randomized Blinded Trial of Three Chest Compression Strategies in a Porcine Model of Pediatric Cardiac Arrest
James Menegazzi, David Salcido, Allison Koller, Cornelia Genbrugge, Ericka Fink, Robert Berg and Charity Patterson
University of Pittsburgh

Scroll to Top